$1.7-Trillion Omnibus Passes House with Support from 9 Republicans

(CNS News) – On Dec. 23, the House of Representatives voted to pas and thus send the $1.7- trillion, 4,155-page omnibus bill to President Joe Biden’s desk by a vote of 225 to 201 with four members not voting.

Two hundred Republicans voted against the legislation and one Democrat voted present. (In the Senate, yesterday, 18 Republicans joined with the Democrats to pass the measure as well.)

The following nine GOP House members joined 216 House Democrats in voting “yes” on the omnibus bill:

            John Katko (N.Y.)

            Chris Jacobs (N.Y.)


            Liz Cheney (Wyo.)

            Brian Fitzpatrick (Pa.)

            Fred Upton (Mich.)

            Rodney Davis (Ill.)

            Jamie Herrera Beutler (Wash.)

            Adam Kinzinger (Ill.)

            Steve Womack (Ark.).

With the exception of Womack and Fitzpatrick, seven of these nine lawmakers will not be returning in the 118th Congress.

Left-wing Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-N.Y.), a democratic socialist, was the only Democrat to vote “no” on the omnibus bill, and her colleague Rashida Tlaib (Mich.) was the only Democrat to vote “present.”

The following four GOP members did not vote:

Ken Buck (Colo.)

Mike Gallagher (Wis.)

Trey Hollingsworth (Ind.)

David McKinley (W. Va.).

The passing of this bill funds the government through Sept. 30, 2023, the end of the fiscal year.

Many members of the House did not show up in person to cast their vote. On Dec. 23rd, there were 230 active proxy letters with the House Clerk, meaning that 230 of the 435 members had requested to be absent and have a present member vote on their behalf.

The proxy voting rule, which was put into place due to the COVID-19 pandemic, will likely be done away with in the next Congress.

This vote was the final vote of the 117th Congress, as the 118th Congress begins in January.


Some media, including videos, may only be available to view at the original.  

Similar Posts